Japanese pop/rock band, Aqua Timez, will be disbanding after nearly 15 years.

The announcement was made tonight, May 8, 2018, in a news posted in the band’s official website. According to Aqua Timez frontman, Futoshi, the decision to disband was mutual between all the members. The members felt burnt out after finishing their latest album, and agreed that they have done all they can in making music. The post also contained the personal messages of apology and gratitude from the rest of the members, OKP, Daisuke, mayuko, and TASSHI, to the fans who have supported them until now.

Together with the band’s messages, an announcement for a final live performance has also been made in order to thank the fans for their support. Details will be released at a later date.

Formed in 2003, Aqua Timez released its first independent album “Sora Ippai ni Kanaderu Inori” two years after their formation. The band was signed on to Epic Records Japan in 2006. Throughout their 15-year career, Aqua Timez has released 8 albums, and 20 singles. Their latest album, Nijuurasen no Masayume (二重螺旋(らせん)のまさゆめ), was released on April 25, 2018. Aqua Timez is well-known for their songs, Sen no Yoru wo Koete and ALONES, both made for the hit shounen anime, BLEACH.